National Championship (RBC Cup)

header national champ

rbc-trophyThe RBC Cup

The BCHL’s RBC Cup History

The Royal Bank Cup was first presented in 1996 to the BCHL’s Vernon Vipers as they defeated the runner up Melfort Mustangs of the SJHL. Prior to 1996, the winners were awarded the Centennial Cup.

The BCHL leads all of the CJHL 13 National Championships, including the 2016 win by the West Kelowna Warriors. Penticton became the first B.C. team to win a National Jr. A Championship in 1986 and Vernon is the only B.C. club to win more than one. Their six Canadian titles came in 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2009 and 2010. (Prince Albert is the only other team that has won four times). Penticton teams have won twice with the Knights in ’86 and the Vees in 2012.

Since 1983, the BCHL has not gone more than a single season without representation at the RBC/Centennial Cup.

In 2014, the RBC Royal Bank Cup was hosted by the City of Vernon and the Vernon Vipers. The host club made their way to the semifinals at Kal Tire Place but lost to the eventual champion Yorkton Terriers of Saskatchewan.

In 2018, the RBC Cup tournament will come back to B.C. as the Chilliwack Chiefs will play host at Prospera Centre.

Visit the Hockey Canada website  more information on the RBC Cup and its past winners.


2017Advanced to semifinalsPenticton VeesCobourg, ON
2016Won RBC CupWest Kelowna WarriorsLloydminster, SK
2015Advanced to semifinalsPenticton VeesPortage-la-Prairie, MB.
2014Advanced to semifinalsVernon VipersVernon, B.C.
2013Advanced to semifinalsSurrey EaglesSummerside, PEI
2012Won RBC CupPenticton VeesHumboldt, SK.
2011Advanced to finalVernon VipersCamrose, AB.
2010Won RBC CupVernon VipersDauphin, MB.
2009Won RBC CupVernon VipersVictoria, B.C.
2008No BCHL TeamN/ACornwall, ON.
2007Advanced to FinalPrince George Spruce KingsPrince George, BC
2006Won RBC CupBurnaby Express Streetsville, ON
2005No BCHL TeamN/AWeyburn, SK
2004Advanced to Round Robin of RBCNanaimo ClippersGrande Prairie, AB
2003No BCHL TeamN/ACharlottetown, PE
2002Advanced to semifinalsChilliwack ChiefsHalifax, NS
2001No BCHL TeamN/AFlin Flon, MB
2000Advanced to semifinalChilliwack ChiefsFort McMurray, AB
1999Won RBC CupVernon Vipers Yorkton, SK
1998Won RBC CupSurrey Eagles Nanaimo, BC
1997Advanced to FinalSurrey EaglesSummerside, PE
1996Won RBC CupVernon Vipers Melfort, SK
1995No BCHL TeamN/AGloucester, ON
1994Advanced to Centennial Cup FinalKelowna SpartansOlds, AB
1993Won Centennial Cup Kelowna Spartans Amherst, NS
1992Advanced to Round RobinVernon LakersWinnipeg, MB
1991Won Centennial Cup Vernon Lakers Sudbury, ON
*1990Won Centennial Cup Vernon LakersVernon, BC
*1990Advanced to Centennial Cup FinalNew Westminster RoyalsVernon, BC
1989Advanced to Round RobinVernon LakersSummerside, PE
1988No BCHL TeamN/APembroke, ON
1987Won Centennial Cup Richmond SockeyesHumboldt, SK
1986Won Centennial Cup Penticton Knights Cole Harbour, NS
1985Advanced to Centennial Cup FinalPenticton KnightsOrillia, ON
1984No BCHL TeamN/AWeyburn, SK
1983Advanced to Centennial Cup FinalAbbotsford FlyersNorth York, ON
1982No BCHL TeamN/APrince Albert, SK
1981No BCHL TeamN/AHalifax, NS
1980No BCHL TeamN/ANorth York, ON
1979No BCHL TeamN/APrince Albert, SK
1978No BCHL TeamN/AGuelph, ON
1977No BCHL TeamN/APrince Albert, SK
1976No BCHL TeamN/ARockland, ON
1975No BCHL TeamN/AEdmonton, AB
1974No BCHL TeamN/ANepean, ON
1973No BCHL TeamN/ABrandon, MB
1972No BCHL TeamN/AGuelph, ON
1971No BCHL TeamN/ACharlottetown, PE