Regional Championship (Western Canada Cup)

header region champ

The Western Canada Cup




Starting in 2013, the four Western CJHL leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL and MJHL) began competing for the Western Canada Cup (WCC). The WCC replaced the Doyle Cup (BCHL champion versus AJHL champion) and the Anavet Cup (SJHL champion versus MJHL champion).

In 2017, the WCC returns to B.C. with the Penticton Vees playing host.

The WCC a five-team event with the host team plus the winners of each of the four leagues. The top-two teams from the WCC advance to the RBC Cup national championship.

YearLocationBCHL Representative(s)Result
2017Penticton, BC
2016Estevan, SKWest Kelowna WarriorsWarriors won WCC
2015Fort McMurray, ABPenticton VeesVees won WCC
2014Dauphin, MBCoquitlam Express4th place
2013Nanaimo, BCSurrey Eagles, Nanaimo ClippersEagles Won WCC


The Penticton Vees were the winners of the last Doyle Cup in 2012 with a 4-1 series victory over the Brooks Bandits.
With the creation of the Western Canada Cup – which involves the winners of all four Western Junior A leagues plus the host team – the Doyle Cup is no longer played for as of 2013.

The Doyle Cup was donated by Penticton businessman Pete Doyle and his family in 1985 and is presented to the winner of the Best-of-7 series between the BCHL and AJHL playoff champions. Since the Cup was introduced the BCHL has won 16 of 25 championships. Vernon (BCHL) has won the most titles with SIX, followed by the Camrose Kodiaks (AJHL) with four. Penticton and Surrey are the only other B.C. teams to have won multiple Doyle Cups.

From 1968 to 1984 there were 15 B.C./Alberta Championships as the event was not contested in 1970 or 1979. The BCHL won six titles, the AJHL captured eight championships and the Richmond Sockeyes of the PCJHL won in 1977. Penticton was the only B.C. team to win multiple BC/Alberta Championships.

The Winner of the Doyle Cup advances to the RBC Cup, Canada’s National Junior A Hockey Championship, as the representative for the Pacific Region.

2012Penticton VeesWon 4-1 over Brooks Bandits
2011Vernon VipersWon 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints
2010Vernon VipersWon 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints
2009Vernon VipersWon 4-0 over Grand Prairie Storm
2008Penticton VeesLost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2007Nanaimo ClippersLost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2006Burnaby ExpressWon 4-2 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
2005Surrey EaglesLost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2004Nanaimo ClippersWon 4-1 over Grand Prairie Storm
2003Vernon VipersLost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2002Chilliwack ChiefsWon 4-2 over Drayton Valley Thunder
2001Victoria SalsaLost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2000Chilliwack ChiefsLost 4-1 to Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1999Vernon VipersWon 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1998South Surrey EaglesWon 4-2 over St. Albert Saints
1997South Surrey EaglesWon 4-1 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1996Vernon VipersWon 4-3 over St. Albert Saints
1995Chilliwack ChiefsLost 4-3 to Calgary Canucks
1994Kelowna SpartansLost 4-2 to Olds Grizzlies
1993Kelowna SpartansWon 4-1 over Olds Grizzlies
1992Vernon LakersWon 4-3 over Olds Grizzlies
1991Vernon LakersWon 4-1 over Calgary Royals
1990New Westminster RoyalsWon 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1989Vernon LakersWon 4-2 over Red Deer Rustlers
1988Vernon LakersLost 4-0 to Calgary Canucks
1987Richmond SockeyesWon 4-3 over Red Deer Rustlers
1986Penticton KnightsWon 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1985Penticton KnightsWon 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1984Langley EaglesWon 4-2 over Fort Saskatchewan Traders
1983Abbotsford FlyersWon 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1982Penticton KnightsLost 4-3 to St. Albert Saints
1981Penticton KnightsLost 4-1 to St. Albert Saints
1980Penticton KnightsLost 4-0 to Red Deer Rustlers
1978Merritt CentennialsWon 4-2 over Calgary Canucks
1977Richmond SockeyesWon over Calgary Canucks
1976Richmond SockeyesLost 4-1 to Spruce Grove Mets
1975Bellingham BlazersLost 4-2 to Spruce Grove Mets
1974Kelowna BuckaroosWon 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1973Penticton BroncosWon 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1972Vernon EssosLost 4-2 to Red Deer Rustlers
1971Penticton BroncosLost 4-3 to Red Deer Rustlers
1969Victoria CougarsLost 4-2 to Lethbridge Sugar Kings
1968Penticton BroncosWon 4-1 over Edmonton Western