Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

2011-12 Penticton Vees to be inducted into BC Sports Hall of Fame

Earlier this week, the BC Sports Hall of Fame announced their upcoming induction class and the 2011-12 Penticton Vees are set to be enshrined in the team category.

That year, the Vees finished the BC Hockey League regular season with a 54-4-0-2 record and set a Canadian Junior A record for most consecutive regular-season wins with 42 straight victories. They went on to win the Fred Page Cup, Doyle Cup and a National Championship.

“It’s another proud moment for a team that was outstanding in so many ways,” said Vees head coach, general manager and president Fred Harbinson. “Our captain said it best, that this was a team that was late to take credit and early to take blae. It’s not easy to find that commitment with that level of talent.”

The 2011-12 team is just the second junior team and 12th hockey team to be inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame. They were inducted into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame in July.

The 2023 BC Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for June, 2023.

For the full list of inductees, visit the BC Sports Hall of Fame website.