Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

2016 BCHL Award Winners

The votes have been tallied and we now know the winners of the BCHL’s five major individual awards.

A second round of polling of the league’s head coaches was carried out this week and the winners are as follows:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy (MVP) – Tyson Jost, Penticton Vees

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year) – Vimal Sukumaran, Chilliwack Chiefs

Top Defenceman Award – Dante Fabbro, Penticton Vees

Bob Fenton Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike) – Colton Kerfoot, Coquitlam Express

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy (Coach of the Year) – Fred Harbinson, Penticton Vees

Of note, Kerfoot joins his older brother and Express alum Alex Kerfoot in making the second brother tandem to win the Bob Fenton Trophy. Paul and Steve Kariya are the other pair.

For Harbinson, this is his third Coach of the Year trophy but the first time he’s won it since the BCHL went to one winner per award, as opposed to one per conference as was the case up to 2013.