BCHL alums named in Hobey list

The opening list of candidates has been announced for the Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the player chosen as the best in NCAA men’s hockey.

This year, 15 former BCHL players are on the list of 81 names. After a round of fan voting and consideration by the selection committee, it will be narrowed to a top ten followed by a Hobey Hat Trick of the three finalists. From that, the ultimate winner will be named on April 12 at the NCAA Frozen Four in Buffalo, N.Y.

Players are chosen for Hobey Baker consideration based on criteria including strength and character on and off the ice, contribution to team integrity, outstanding hockey skill, scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Fans are encouraged to vote once per day online at HobeyBaker.com/vote

The following BCHL graduates are currently in the running:

Player School/conference BCHL team
Adam Brubacher RIT/Atlantic Hockey Prince George Spruce Kings, Powell River Kings
Blake Christensen AIC/Atlantic Hockey Wenatchee Wild
Scott Conway Providence/Hockey East Penticton Vees
Diego Cuglietta Lake Superior State/WCHA Merritt Centennials
Cam Donaldson Cornell/ECAC Hockey Powell River Kings
Dante Fabbro Boston University/Hockey East Penticton Vees
Taro Hirose Michigan State/Big 10 Salmon Arm Silverbacks
Yanni Kaldis Cornell/ECAC Hockey Nanaimo Clippers
Jake Lucchini Michigan Tech/WCHA Trail Smoke Eaters
Jarid Lukosevicius Denver/NCHC Powell River Kings
Corey Mackin Ferris State/WCHA Coquitlam Express
Cole Maier Union College/ECAC Hockey Nanaimo Clippers
Chase Priskie Quinnipiac/ECAC Hockey Salmon Arm Silverbacks
Mat Robson Minnesota/Big 10 Penticton Vees
Brett Supinski Union College/ECAC Hockey Coquitlam Express

In all, nine BCHL teams are represented. From among the nominees, Dante Fabbro is a Nashville Predators first-round draft pick, Chase Priskie was selected by the Washington Capitals after his freshman season at Quinnipiac, Taro Hirose is currently leading the NCAA in scoring, Corey Mackin was the 2015 BCHL scoring champ and Jarid Lukosevicius won the 2017 NCAA title with Denver scoring a hat trick in the final.

Other nominees in the running include Colorado Avalanche first-round pick Cale Makar of the University of Massachusetts, Vancouver Canucks first-round draft pick Quinn Hughes of the University of Michigan, New York Rangers first-round pick K’Andre Miller of the University of Wisconsin and Ian Mitchell of the University of Denver who was a member of Team Canada at the recent World Junior Championship.