Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

BCHL & CJHL alums in Pyeongchang

As Canada’s men’s hockey team prepares for its second game at the Pyeongchang Winter Olympics Friday night against the Czech Republic, a quick scan of its roster reveals a strong contingent of players who cut their teeth in Junior hockey in the Canadian Junior Hockey League.

There are three BCHL alumni in that mix in Gilbert Brule, Andrew Ebbett and Chay Genoway. Brule played the 2002-03 season with the Quesnel Millionaires as a 15- and 16-year-old, posting 32 goals and earning the league’s rookie of the year award before going on to the Western Hockey League with Vancouver and becoming a first-round NHL draft pick in 2006 by Columbus.

Ebbett played the 2001-02 season with the Salmon Arm Silverbacks in their inaugural BCHL season. He led them in scoring with 45 goals and 84 points and earned a scholarship to Michigan, becoming captain his senior year.

Genoway spent the 2005-06 season with the Vernon Vipers, securing a scholarship to North Dakota where he graduated as captain in 2011.

Also, the Canadian women’s team has one player that is also a CJHL alumnus in goalie Shannon Szabados who played over 200 games for three teams in the Alberta Junior Hockey League from 2002 to 2007.

In the Paralympic Games which run March 9 to 18 in Pyeongchang, there is a former BCHL player and coach who will be on the bench with the men’s sledge hockey team. Luke Pierce, who played for the Merritt Centennials and Vernon Vipers in the BCHL before a Canadian University career at Royal Military College, is on head coach Ken Babey’s staff as an assistant.

Pierce was also a head coach in the BCHL with Merritt, winning the league’s coach of the year award in 2013.

The following is a list of the players competing along with the CJHL clubs and leagues they competed in:

Rene Bourque F Notre Dame Hounds SJHL
St. Albert Saints AJHL
Gilbert Brule F Quesnel Millionaires BCHL
Andrew Ebbett F Salmon Arm Silverbacks BCHL
Chay Genoway D Winkler Flyers MJHL
      Vernon Vipers BCHL
Cody Goloubef D Milton Icehawks OJHL
Oakville Blades OJHL
Chris Kelly F Aurora Tigers OJHL
Vaughan Vipers OJHL
Brandon Kozun F Calgary Royals AJHL
Chris Lee D Orillia Terriers OJHL
Couching Terriers OJHL
Parry Sound Shamrocks OJHL
Eric O’Dell F Ottawa Jr. A Senators CCHL
Cumberland Grads CCHL
Mason Raymond F Camrose Kodiaks AJHL
Mat Robinson D Calgary Royals AJHL
Ben Scrivens G Drayton Valley Thunder AJHL
Calgary Canucks AJHL
Spruce Grove Saints AJHL
Karl Stollery D Camrose Kodiaks AJHL
Shannon Szabadoos G Sherwood Park Crusaders AJHL
Bonnyville Pontiacs
Fort Saskatchewan Traders
Wojtek Wolski F St. Michael’s Buzzers OJHL