Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Cowichan’s Justis Doucet named BCHL Broadcaster of the Year

Cowichan Valley Capitals play-by-play broadcaster Justis Doucet has been named the 2019-20 BCHL Broadcaster of the Year.

Doucet earned the recognition after a vote was conducted with all 17 team broadcasters.

“Obviously, this is a huge honour to win this award,” said Doucet. “Even more so because it’s voted on by all of the other talented broadcasters in this league. It’s a really tight-knit group of guys that are always looking for ways to help each other improve.”

The Duncan, B.C. native began calling games for his hometown Capitals to start the 2017-18 season and has been the voice of the team ever since.

Doucet, 23, is a graduate of the BCIT Broadcast and Online Journalism program and previously worked for the Kerry Park Islanders of the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL).

This year’s version of the Capitals was by far the best that he’s had a chance to call, after they missed the playoffs his first year and finished as the last team to make the postseason last year.

In 2019-20, Cowichan finished with 35 wins and were one point short of the division lead. They won their first-round series against the Powell River Kings and were set for an Island Division showdown with the Nanaimo Clippers before the season was cancelled.

“This year was crazy for a lot of different reasons, but having playoff hockey at The Stick and the second-best season in more than 10 years was really exciting,” he said. “Shout out to the Caps for a great season. It makes things much easier for me. I can’t wait to get back in the booth next year.”

Previous winners of the Broadcaster of the Year Award include:

2019 – Trevor Miller, Trail Smoke Eaters
2018 – Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2017 – Fraser Rodgers, Penticton Vees
2016 – Alex Rawnsley, Powell River Kings & Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2015 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2014 – Marc Fitzgerald, Chilliwack Chiefs
2013 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
2012 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2011 – Eddie Gregory, Coquitlam Express
2010 – Todd Miller, Vernon Vipers
2009 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs