Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

FortisBC Energy Players

The BCHL and FortisBC are proud to announce the Energy Players of the Year for the 2015-16 regular season and playoffs.

At the conclusion of each game, a player is recognized just after the 3 Stars are announced who demonstrated exceptional hustle and drive during that night’s contest. The results are tracked through the regular season and playoffs and the players with the most Energy Player nominations take the title for the year.

This season, there was a tie for the regular season with Kylar Hope of the West Kelowna Warriors and Linden Hora of the Chilliwack Chiefs each accumulating 12 FortisBC Energy Player of the Game nods. In the playoffs, it was West Kelowna captain Kyle Marino, with four nominations, that takes the crown.

Hope, a native of Lashburn, Sask. finished the season 10th in BCHL scoring with 28 goals and 46 assists for 74 points to go along with 62 penalty minutes. He played all 58 games for the Warriors this season. Hope is committed to NCAA Div. I University of Alaska-Fairbanks for next season.

Hora, from Kelowna, tallied eight goals and nine assists along with 82 penalty minutes this season, helping the Chiefs to the Mainland Division title. He missed just two games, suiting up in 56 contests for the Chiefs.

Marino, from Niagara Falls, Ont., posted seven goals and four assists with 46 penalty minutes while playing all 24 Warriors’ playoff games. The captain led the Warriors to the Fred Page Cup, Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup and the RBC Cup national title. He’ll remain teammates with Hope as he is also committed to the University of Alaska-Fairbanks for next season.

Past winners:

Regular season – Joe Drapluk, Surrey Eagles
Playoffs – Spencer Hewson, Nanaimo Clippers

Regular season – Andrew Silard, Chilliwack Chiefs
Playoffs – Colton Sparrow, Vernon Vipers

Regular season – Trevor Esau, Prince George Spruce Kings
Playoffs – Max French, West Kelowna Warriors