Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

In the running for BCHL hardware

The finalists for the 2015-16 BCHL Awards have been determined.

After polling the league’s head coaches, one player from each division has been identified. These names will be put to the coaches for one more survey to determine the ultimate winners, which will be announced on Friday, Feb. 26.

The nominees are as follows:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy (MVP)
Interior Division – Tyson Jost, Penticton Vees
Mainland Division – Jordan Kawaguchi, Chilliwack Chiefs
Island Division – Sheldon Rempal, Nanaimo Clippers
(others receiving multiple votes: Scott Conway, Jackson Cressey, Jeff Smith, Jonathan Desbiens, Yanni Kaldis, Colton Kerfoot, Colin Grannary, Matt Graham, Darien Craighead)

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year)
Interior Division – Odeen Tufto, Vernon Vipers
Mainland Division – Vimal Sukumaran, Chilliwack Chiefs
Island Division – Kyle Betts, Powell River Kings
(others receiving multiple votes: Austin McIlmurray, Carter Turnbull, Justin Fregona, Easton Brodzinski, Michael Faulkner, Matt Hudie, Matthew Galajda, Jeffrey Stewart, Kohen Olischefski, Max Kaufman, Chase Zieky)

Top Defenceman Trophy
Interior Division – Dante Fabbro, Penticton Vees
Mainland Division – Dennis Cholowski, Chilliwack Chiefs
Island Division – Yanni Kaldis, Nanaimo Clippers
(others receiving multiple votes: Bryan Yoon, Paul Meyer, Colton Poolman, Rylan Yaremko, Matthew Stief, Nick Fiorentino, Adam Brubacher, Will Campion, Taylor Green)

Bob Fenton Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike Player)
Interior Division – Taro Hirose, Salmon Arm Silverbacks
Mainland Division – Colton Kerfoot, Coquitlam Express
Island Division – Chris Schutz, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
(others receiving multiple votes: Liam Finlay, Jordan Kawaguchi, Carter Turnbull, Justin Szeto, Odeen Tufto, Jordan Sandhu)

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy (Coach of the Year)
Interior Division – Fred Harbinson, Penticton Vees
Mainland Division – Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild
Island Division – Mike Vandekamp, Nanaimo Clippers
(others receiving multiple votes: Rylan Ferster, Jason Tatarnic, Bobby Henderson, Bob Beatty, Kent Lewis)