Alberni Valley Bulldogs Chilliwack Chiefs Coquitlam Express Cowichan Capitals Cranbrook Bucks Langley Rivermen Merritt Centennials Nanaimo Clippers Penticton Vees Powell River Kings Prince George Spruce Kings Salmon Arm Silverbacks Surrey Eagles Trail Smoke Eaters Vernon Vipers Victoria Grizzlies Wenatchee Wild West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

The finalists are…

BCHL-180x240After the first round of voting by coaches, the finalists from each of the BCHL’s three divisions have been determined for the annual league awards.

Another round of coaches voting will decide the winner for each trophy and the results will be announced next week before the playoffs begin.

Here are the finalists for the 2016-17 BCHL awards:

MVP (Vern Dye Memorial Trophy)

Island: Matthew Galajda, goaltender, Victoria Grizzlies

Mainland: Brendan Harris, forward, Wenatchee Wild

Interior: Mat Robson, goaltender, Penticton Vees


Rookie of the Year (Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy)

Island: Cam Donaldson, forward, Powell River Kings

Mainland: Brendan Budy, forward, Langley Rivermen

Interior: Zach Risteau, forward, Merritt Centennials


Top Defenceman Trophy

Island: Jake Stevens, Victoria Grizzies

Mainland: Tyler Anderson, Prince George Spruce Kings

Interior: Michael Ufberg, Vernon Vipers


Most Sportsmanlike Player (Bob Fenton Trophy)

Island: Cam Donaldson, forward, Powell River Kings

Mainland: Brendan Harris, forward, Wenatchee Wild

Interior: Grant Cruikshank, forward, Penticton Vees


Coach of the Year (Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy)

Island: Craig Didmon, Victoria Grizzlies

Mainland: Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild

Interior: Fred Harbinson, Penticton Vees


The BCHL’s goaltender awards are not voted on. The Goaltending Award will go to the goalie with lowest goals-against average and at least 1,000 minutes played. The Wally Forslund Award for best goalie tandem goes to the goalie teammates with the lowest combined goals-against average.

Other league awards that are not voted on are the Brett Hull Award for top scorer and the Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy for the team with the best regular-season record.

CLICK HERE to visit the league awards page for all past winners.