Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Vernon’s Graham Turnbull and Alberni’s Evan Hammond named Broadcasters of the Year

Vernon Vipers play-by-play broadcaster Graham Turnbull and Alberni Valley Bulldogs Evan Hammond have been named the BCHL’s co-Broadcasters of the Year for the 2021-22 season.

A vote was conducted among the 18 league broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season and the two were tied, so they will share this year’s award.

Criteria for the award includes broadcast skill, professionalism and work beyond the booth.

Turnbull has worked nine seasons in the BCHL, one with the Merritt Centennials and the last eight with the Vipers. He has had the opportunity to call two league finals, one in 2014 and another in 2019.

This is his second time winning the award after being honoured the first time in 2018.

“I couldn’t be more humbled to receive this award,” said Turnbull. “To be able to share it with a well-respected colleague like Evan Hammond makes it sweeter. There are, and have been, so many great broadcasters come through the BCHL. I’m very proud to be included.”

Hammond has been the voice of the Bulldogs since the 2003-04 season and is one of the longest-serving broadcasters in the league. This year, he called games for an Alberni Valley team that went 35-15-3-1 to finish first in the Coastal Conference for the first time since the 2009-10 campaign.

He is now a three-time winner of the award after being recognized in 2013 and 2009.

“It means so much to know I’ve earned the respect of my peers to be selected for this award,” said Hammond. “It’s an honour to share it with Graham Turnbull. He is a great friend, a fantastic individual and a broadcaster without equal, whose games I watch often.”

“Thanks to the players in this great league, on both sides of the puck. Your efforts make this job feel like a privilege. Thanks to their families and supporters for their sacrifices that put them in a position to provide us with such fantastic entertainment every night. Finally, and most importantly, thanks to the passionate fans in the Alberni Valley. Knowing that there’s a passionate, dedicated fanbase hanging on my every word serves to motivate me to be prepared and be at my best every night.”

Previous winners of the Broadcaster of the Year Award include:

2020 – Justis Doucet, Cowichan Valley Capitals
2019 – Trevor Miller, Trail Smoke Eaters
2018 – Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2017 – Fraser Rodgers, Penticton Vees
2016 – Alex Rawnsley, Powell River Kings & Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2015 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2014 – Marcus Fitzgerald, Chilliwack Chiefs
2013 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
2012 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2011 – Eddie Gregory, Coquitlam Express
2010 – Todd Miller, Vernon Vipers
2009 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs