Mowat Cup

header mowat

The Mowat Cup is emblematic of the Junior “A” hockey championship of British Columbia.

The cup was donated to the British Columbia Amateur Hockey Association by Mr. John Mowat of Victoria, B.C. for competition in the 1927-28 hockey season.

In past years, junior teams in BC played in various regional leagues, including the Kootenay International Junior Hockey League, Pacific Coast Junior Hockey League, Peace Cariboo Junior Hockey League and Rocky Mountain Junior Hockey League. Various formats for Mowat Cup competition usually saw the champions of these regional leagues compete for the Mowat Cup.

Since 1999, the Mowat Cup has been exclusive to the province-wide Junior “A” British Columbia Hockey League.

SeasonTeamCoaching staffOther Trophies
2016West Kelowna WarriorsRylan Ferster, Shae Naka, Cory CrossWestern Canada Cup, RBC Cup
2015Penticton VeesFred Harbinson, Steve Cawley, Nick FuherWestern Canada Cup
2014Coquitlam ExpressBarry Wolff,
2013Surrey EaglesMatt Erhart, Peter SchaeferWestern Canada Cup
2012Penticton VeesFred Harbinson, Michael HengenDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
2011Vernon VipersMark Ferner, Jason WilliamsonDoyle Cup
2010Vernon VipersMark Ferner, Jason WilliamsonDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
2009Vernon VipersMark Ferner, Jason WilliamsonDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
2008Penticton VeesFred Harbinson
2007Nanaimo ClippersBill Bestwick
2006Burnaby ExpressRick Lanz, Bobby Vermette, Dave McLellanDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
2005Surrey EaglesRick Hillier
2004Nanaimo ClippersBill BestwickDoyle Cup
2003Vernon VipersMike Vandekamp, Bob Dever, Shawn Bourgeois
2002Chilliwack ChiefsHarvey SmylDoyle Cup
2001Victoria SalsaCampbell Blair
2000Chilliwack ChiefsHarvey Smyl
1999Vernon VipersTroy Mick, Joe OliverDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
1998South Surrey EaglesMark Holick, John ShortDoyle Cup, RBC Cup
1997South Surrey EaglesRick Lanz, Mark Holick, John ShortDoyle Cup
1996Vernon VipersRob Bremner, Troy MickDoyle Cup, RBC Cup