Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

23 BCHL alumni listed on NHL rosters to start 2022-23 season

Training camps are over, rosters have been finalized across the NHL and this year, there are 23 former BCHL players that have cracked opening nights rosters.

The list includes veteran players like Jamie Benn and Milan Lucic, as well as young players like Kent Johnson and Alex Newhook. A few players have changed teams as well, like Troy Stecher who is now with the Arizona Coyotes and Justin Schultz who joined the Seattle Kraken in the offseason.

The Stanley Cup champion Colorado Avalanche boast three BCHL alumni on their roster, as do the Nashville Predators.

The list also includes a pair of players who will start the season on injured reserve – Andrew Ladd (Arizona) and Carey Price (Montreal).

See below for the full list.

Anaheim Ducks Derek Grant Langley Chiefs 2007-2009
Arizona Coyotes Andrew Ladd Coquitlam Express 2002-2003
Arizona Coyotes Troy Stecher Penticton Vees 2010-2013
Boston Bruins Mike Reilly Penticton Vees 2011-2012
Calgary Flames Milan Lucic Coquitlam Express 2004-2005
Chicago Blackhawks Jujhar Khaira Prince George Spruce Kings 2010-2012
Colorado Avalanche Josh Manson Salmon Arm Silverbacks 2009-2011
Colorado Avalanche Alex Newhook Victoria grizzlies 2017-2019
Colorado Avalanche Devon Toews Surrey Eagles 2011-2013
Columbus Blue Jackets Kent Johnson Trail Smoke Eaters 2018-2020
Dallas Stars Jamie Benn Victoria Grizzlies 2006-2007
Minnesota Wild Brandon Duhaime Merritt Centennials 2014-2015
Minnesota Wild Tyson Jost Penticton Vees 2014-2016
Montreal Canadiens Carey Price Quesnel Millionaires 2002-2003
Nashville Predators Dante Fabbro Penticton Vees 2014-2016
Nashville Predators Ryan Johansen Penticton Vees 2008-2009
Nashville Predators Colton Sissons Westside Warriors 2009-2010
Pittsburgh Penguins Danton Heinen Surrey Eagles 2013-2014
Seattle Kraken Justin Schultz Westside Warriors 2007-2009
Seattle Kraken Brandon Tanev Surrey Eagles 2011-2012
Toronto Maple Leafs Jordie Benn Victoria Grizzlies 2005-2008
Toronto Maple Leafs Alex Kerfoot Coquitlam Express 2011-2013
Washington Capitals Matt Irwin Nanaimo Clippers 2005-2008

*NOTE: Only players with a minimum of 10 games played in the BCHL are included.*