Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

31 BCHL alumni crack NHL opening-night rosters

The NHL season began last night and there are a total of 31 alumni listed on opening-night rosters across the league.

Mainstays like Jamie Benn (Dallas), Josh Manson (Anaheim) and Tyson Jost (Colorado) remained with their original clubs, but players like Duncan Keith (Edmonton), Matt Irwin (Washington) and Andrew Ladd (Arizona) all found new homes.

Other league alumni will be making their NHL debut this fall, including Jasper Weatherby (San Jose) and Brandon Duhaime (Minnesota). The BCHL is also represented on the league’s newest team, the Seattle Kraken, with Brandon Tanev and Dennis Cholowski on the roster.

The Colorado Avalanche and the Nashville Predators each boast a league-high three former BCHL players.

See below for the full list of 31 players.

Anaheim Ducks Derek Grant Langley Chiefs 2007-09
Anaheim Ducks Josh Manson Salmon Arm Silverbacks 2009-11
Arizona Coyotes Andrew Ladd Coquitlam Express 2002-03
Boston Bruins Mike Reilly Penticton Vees 2011-12
Calgary Flames Milan Lucic Coquitlam Express 2004-05
Chicago Blackhawks Jujhar Khaira Prince George Spruce Kings 2010-12
Colorado Avalanche Tyson Jost Penticton Vees 2014-16
Colorado Avalanche Alex Newhook Victoria Grizzlies 2017-19
Colorado Avalanche Devon Toews Surrey Eagles 2011-13
Dallas Stars Jamie Benn Victoria Grizzlies 2006-07
Detroit Red Wings Danny DeKeyser Trail Smoke Eaters 2008-09
Detroit Red Wings Troy Stecher Penticton Vees 2010-13
Edmonton Oilers Duncan Keith Penticton Panthers 1999-01
Edmonton Oilers Kyle Turris Burnaby Express 2005-07
Minnesota Wild Jordie Benn Victoria Grizzlies 2005-08
Minnesota Wild Brandon Duhaime Merritt Centennials 2014-15
Montreal Canadiens Carey Price Quesnel Millionaires 2002-03
Nashville Predators Dante Fabbro Penticton Vees 2014-16
Nashville Predators Ryan Johansen Penticton Vees 2008-09
Nashville Predators Colton Sissons Westside Warriors 2009-10
Pittsburgh Penguins Danton Heinen Surrey Eagles 2013-14
San Jose Sharks Jasper Weatherby Wenatchee Wild 2016-18
Seattle Kraken Dennis Cholowski Chilliwack Chiefs 2014-16
Seattle Kraken Brandon Tanev Surrey Eagles 2011-12
St. Louis Blues Tyler Bozak Victoria Grizzlies 2004-07
Toronto Maple Leafs Alex Kerfoot Coquitlam Express 2011-13
Vancouver Canucks Brad Hunt Burnaby Express 2006-08
Vegas Golden Knights Laurent Brossoit Cowichan Valley Capitals 2009-10
Washington Capitals Matt Irwin Nanaimo Clippers 2005-08
Washington Capitals Justin Schultz Westside Warriors 2007-09
Winnipeg Jets Riley Nash Salmon Arm Silverbacks 2006-07

*NOTE: Only players with a minimum of 10 games played in the BCHL are included.*