Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

47 BCHL alumni recognized for academic achievement in NCHC and WCHA

Photo credit: Shannon Valerio/University of Denver (Demin)

The NCHC and WCHA college hockey conferences have both announced their All-Academic Teams and there are 47 BCHL alumni who were recognized for their academic excellence during the 2020-21 season with many more expected as other conferences announce their lists in the coming weeks.

Sticking with academic, the ECAC Hockey conference also recently announced its finalists for Student Athlete of the Year, which includes a few BCHL names. For one year only, this award does not take into consideration on-ice performance and is strictly based on academics.

See below for a full list of former BCHL players on the All-Academic Teams from the NCHC and WCHA, as well as the BCHL alumni named finalists for the ECAC Hockey Student Athlete of the Year.



*NOTE: The NCHC also honours Distinguished Scholar Athletes for their exceptional academic achievement and those names are in bold.*

Colorado College:

Patrick Cozzi (Prince George Spruce Kings)
Grant Cruikshank
(Penticton Vees)
McKay Flanagan (Langley Rivermen
Jackson Ross
(Surrey Eagles)
Chad Sasaki
(Wenatchee Wild)
Brian Williams
(Wenatchee Wild)
Bryan Yoon (Wenatchee Wild)

University of Denver:

Ryan Barrow (Langley Rivermen)
Slava Demin
(Wenatchee Wild)
Griffin Mendel
(Penticton Vees)
Kohen Olischefski
(Chilliwack Chiefs)
Brett Stapley (Vernon Vipers)

Miami University:

Alec Capstick (Langley Rivermen)
Chase Pletzke (Langley Rivermen)
John Sladic (Cowichan Valley Capitals)

University of Minnesota-Duluth:

Luke Loheit (Penticton Vees)

University of North Dakota:

Harrison Blaisdell (Chilliwack Chiefs)
Jasper Weatherby (Wenatchee Wild)

University of Nebraska-Omaha:

Ryan Brushett (Vernon/Surrey/Powell River)
Austin Roden (Nanaimo/Merritt)
John Schuldt
(Langley Rivermen)
Taylor Ward (Penticton Vees)

St. Cloud State University:

Trevor Zins (Trail Smoke Eaters)

Western Michigan University:

Kale Bennett (Surrey/Nanaimo)
Jamie Rome (Victoria Grizzlies)



University of Alabama-Huntsville:

Lucas Bahn (West Kelowna Warriors)

University of Alaska-Anchorage:

Zach Court (Nanaimo/Merritt)
Zac Masson (Langley Rivermen)
Troy Robillard (Coquitlam Express)

University of Alaska:

Max Newton (Trail/Cowichan)

Bemidji State University:

Zach Driscoll (Penticton Vees)

Bowling Green State University:

Garrett Daly (Langley Rivermen)
Chase Danol (Surrey/Coquitlam)
Gavin Gould (Merritt/Nanaimo)
Zach Rose (Victoria Grizzlies)
Trevor St-Jean (Langley Rivermen)

Ferris State University:

Justin Michaelian (Victoria Grizzlies)

Lake Superior State University:

Alex Ambrosio (Coquitlam Express)
Ashton Calder (Surrey Eagles)
Dustin Manz (Prince George Spruce Kings)
Mitchell Oliver (Vernon/Alberni)

Michigan Tech:

Tyrell Buckley (Merritt Centennials)
Greyson Reitmeier (Trail Smoke Eaters)
Tyler Rockwell (Wenatchee Wild)
Marcus Russell (Salmon Arm/Alberni)

Minnesota State University:

Ryan Sandelin (Penticton Vees)
Lucas Sowder (Wenatchee Wild)

Northern Michigan University:

Andre Ghantous (Trail/Penticton)


ECAC Hockey Student Athlete of the Year finalists:

Kyle Betts – Cornell University (Powell River Kings)
Callum Cusinato – St. Lawrence University (Coquitlam Express)
Linden Marshall – Rensselaer Polytechnic University (Trail Smoke Eaters)
Paul McAvoy – Colgate University (Surrey Eagles)