Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Defensive Award

Awarded to one player who has been judged by BCHL coaches to be the most outstanding defenceman during the regular season.

Past winners of the trophy are:

2023 Abram Wiebe, Chilliwack Chiefs
2022 Tyson Jugnauth, West Kelowna Warriors *Awarded to one BCHL player
2021 Not awarded due to COVID-19
2020 Akito Hirose, Salmon Arm Silverbacks *Awarded to one BCHL player
2019 James Miller, Penticton Vees *Awarded to one BCHL player
2018 Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild *Awarded to one BCHL player
2017 Jake Stevens, Victoria Grizzlies *Awarded to one BCHL player
2016 Dante Fabbro, Penticton Vees *Awarded to one BCHL player
2015 Andrew Farny, Salmon Arm Silverbacks *Awarded to one BCHL player
2014 Brett Beauvais, Penticton Vees *Awarded to one BCHL player
2013 Devon Toews, Surrey Eagles Troy Stecher, Penticton Vees
2012 Craig Dalrymple, Powell River Kings Mike Reilly, Penticton Vees
2011 Justin Dasilva, Powell River Kings Joey Laleggia, Penticton Vees
2010 Mat Bodie, Powell River Kings
Jordan Heywood, Victoria Grizzlies
Brendan Ellis, Westside Warriors
2009 Zach Currie, Cowichan Valley Capitals Justin Schultz, Westside Warriors
2008 Matt Irwin, Nanaimo Clippers Justin Schultz, Westside Warriors
2007 Matt Irwin, Nanaimo Clippers Deron Cousens, Penticton Vees
2006 Michael Wakita, Powell River Kings Andy Zulyniak, Vernon Vipers
TJ Miller, Penticton Vees
2005 Jason Garrison, Nanaimo Clippers Andy Zulyniak, Vernon Vipers
2004 Doug Krantz, Alberni Valley Bulldogs Craig Switzer, Salmon Arm SilverBacks
2003 Brandon Janes, Alberni Valley Bulldogs Jonathan Sigalet, Salmon Arm SilverBacks
2002 Nathan Oystrick, Surrey Eagles Brad Farynuk, Vernon Vipers
2001 Dale Lupul, Burnaby Bulldogs Duncan Keith, Penticton Panthers
2000 Rob Marshall, Chilliwack Chiefs Dave Keough, Prince George Spruce Kings
1999 Don Nichols, Chilliwack Chiefs Brad Fast, Prince George Spruce Kings
1998 Jacob Ficenec, Surrey Eagles Travis Roche, Trail Smoke Eaters
1997 Jim Gattoliat, Cowichan Valley Capitals Steve McCarthy, Trail Smoke Eaters
1996 Mark Filipenko, Penticton Panthers *Awarded to one BCHL player
1995 Dennis Pinfold, Bellingham Ice Hawks *Awarded to one BCHL player
1994 Todd McCave, Bellingham Ice Hawks Martin Lapointe, Penticton Panthers
1993 Rob Milliken, Victoria Warriors Jeff Tory, Penticton Panthers
1992 Taso Sofikitis, Bellingham Ice Hawks Jeff Tory, Penticton Panthers
1991 Derry Menard, New Westminster Royals Jason Hehr, Kelowna Spartans
1987 Campbell Blair, Vernon Lakers *Awarded to one BCHL player
1979 Gary Nylund, Delta Suns *Awarded to one BCHL player
1976 Terry Anaka, Vernon Vikings *Awarded to one BCHL player
1975 Brian McAllister, Bellingham Blazers *Awarded to one BCHL player