Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

League announces winners of the BCHL Canucks Alumni Scholarship Program

The BC Hockey League and the Vancouver Canucks Alumni have announced six winners for the BCHL Canucks Alumni Scholarship Program for the 2021-22 season.

The program, which has been in place since 1987, is designed to provide former BCHL players the opportunity to apply for scholarship funds as they continue their academic careers.

The recipients of the scholarships are determined by a selection committee from the BCHL, based on the individual’s academics, hockey and community service.

This year’s winners are:

Jackson Doucet (Alberni Valley Bulldogs/University of Regina)
Jeremy Lucchini (Trail Smoke Eaters/York University)
Brady Lynn (Nanaimo Clippers/Cowichan Valley Capitals/Marian University)
Spencer McLean (Trail Smoke Eaters/Grant MacEwan University)
Cameron Thompson (Victoria Grizzlies/Dalhousie University)
Zach Zorn (Merritt Centennials/Concordia University)

“Our partnership with the Canucks Alumni has provided scholarship funds for former BCHL players for the past 35 years,” said BCHL CEO Chris Hebb. “When a player comes through our league, he is an alumnus for life, so it gives us great pleasure to reward these young men who work so hard to follow their academic goals, even if it’s years after they have graduated from the BCHL. Education remains a key pillar of our league and this initiative is a great way for us to emphasize that.”

This year’s winners will each receive $2,500 in scholarship funds to go towards their education.

“The Vancouver Canucks Alumni have supported many scholarship programs over the past 40-plus years – totalling over $900,000,” said Arthur Griffiths, Chair of the Vancouver Canucks Alumni Foundation. “We’re proud to continue with our tradition of supporting the BCHL and the many young men who go on to post-secondary schools. We view education as the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for their future today.”