Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Nanaimo’s Dan Marshall wins Jim Hughson Award for BCHL Broadcaster of the Year

Nanaimo Clippers play-by-play broadcaster Dan Marshall has been named the 2023-24 winner of the Jim Hughson Award for Broadcaster of the Year.

Marshall earned the recognition after a vote was conducted with the 17 B.C. broadcasters.

“Winning this award is very special,” said Marshall. “It’s also a collaborative effort for sure. We have a large team on our broadcasts on 106.9 The Wolf, highlighted by Alex Rawnsley who joins me on air for most home games. Our behind-the-scenes team is amazing as well, so I think this award is very much a shared success.”

Marshall has been the Clippers play-by-play broadcaster since 2007. This is the fourth time he has won the Broadcaster of the Year Award, also having been honoured in 2012, 2015 and 2016 (co-winner).

“I’ve been around the BCHL for many years and there’s never been a time where the broadcasting talent has been this strong league-wide,” he said. “I know, listening to others in the league, seeing the many things our play-by-play guys do during the game and even promoting their teams outside of the broadcasts, it pushes me to get better.”

Previous winners of the Jim Hughson Award include:

2023 – Arch Ecker, Wenatchee Wild
2022 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs & Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2020 – Justis Doucet, Cowichan Valley Capitals
2019 – Trevor Miller, Trail Smoke Eaters
2018 – Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2017 – Fraser Rodgers, Penticton Vees
2016 – Alex Rawnsley, Powell River Kings & Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2015 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2014 – Marc Fitzgerald, Chilliwack Chiefs
2013 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
2012 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2011 – Eddie Gregory, Coquitlam Express
2010 – Todd Miller, Vernon Vipers
2009 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs