Regional Championship (Doyle Cup)

header region champ


In 2019, the Doyle Cup featured the BCHL-champion Prince George Spruce Kings and the AJHL-winners the Brooks Bandits going head-to-head in a seven-game series. That series was unique in the fact that Brooks was also the host of the National Junior A Championship (formerly the RBC Cup), so that meant both participants got an automatic berth in the year-end tournament. The Spruce Kings prevailed in six games to take the Doyle Cup championship.

The Western Canada Cup – which involved the winners of all four Western Junior A leagues plus the host team – was held instead of the Doyle Cup from 2013 to 2017.

The Doyle Cup was donated by Penticton businessman Pete Doyle and his family in 1985 and is presented to the winner of the Best-of-7 series between the BCHL and AJHL playoff champions. Since the Cup was introduced the BCHL has won 21 of 30 championships. Vernon (BCHL) has won the most titles with eight, followed by the Camrose Kodiaks (AJHL) with five. Penticton and Surrey are the only other B.C. teams to have won multiple Doyle Cups.

From 1968 to 1984 there were 15 B.C./Alberta Championships as the event was not contested in 1970 or 1979. The BCHL won six titles, the AJHL captured eight championships and the Richmond Sockeyes of the PCJHL won in 1977. Penticton was the only B.C. team to win multiple BC/Alberta Championships.

The Winner of the Doyle Cup advances to the National Junior A Championship, as the representative for the Pacific Region.

2020 N/A Cancelled due to COVID-19
2019 Prince George Spruce Kings Won 4-2 over Brooks Bandits
2018 Wenatchee Wild Won 4-1 over Spruce Grove Saints
2012 Penticton Vees Won 4-1 over Brooks Bandits
2011 Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints
2010 Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints
2009 Vernon Vipers Won 4-0 over Grand Prairie Storm
2008 Penticton Vees Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2007 Nanaimo Clippers Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2006 Burnaby Express Won 4-2 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
2005 Surrey Eagles Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2004 Nanaimo Clippers Won 4-1 over Grand Prairie Storm
2003 Vernon Vipers Lost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2002 Chilliwack Chiefs Won 4-2 over Drayton Valley Thunder
2001 Victoria Salsa Lost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2000 Chilliwack Chiefs Lost 4-1 to Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1999 Vernon Vipers Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1998 South Surrey Eagles Won 4-2 over St. Albert Saints
1997 South Surrey Eagles Won 4-1 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1996 Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over St. Albert Saints
1995 Chilliwack Chiefs Lost 4-3 to Calgary Canucks
1994 Kelowna Spartans Lost 4-2 to Olds Grizzlies
1993 Kelowna Spartans Won 4-1 over Olds Grizzlies
1992 Vernon Lakers Won 4-3 over Olds Grizzlies
1991 Vernon Lakers Won 4-1 over Calgary Royals
1990 New Westminster Royals Won 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1989 Vernon Lakers Won 4-2 over Red Deer Rustlers
1988 Vernon Lakers Lost 4-0 to Calgary Canucks
1987 Richmond Sockeyes Won 4-3 over Red Deer Rustlers
1986 Penticton Knights Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1985 Penticton Knights Won 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1984 Langley Eagles Won 4-2 over Fort Saskatchewan Traders
1983 Abbotsford Flyers Won 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1982 Penticton Knights Lost 4-3 to St. Albert Saints
1981 Penticton Knights Lost 4-1 to St. Albert Saints
1980 Penticton Knights Lost 4-0 to Red Deer Rustlers
1979 N/A N/A
1978 Merritt Centennials Won 4-2 over Calgary Canucks
1977 Richmond Sockeyes Won over Calgary Canucks
1976 Richmond Sockeyes Lost 4-1 to Spruce Grove Mets
1975 Bellingham Blazers Lost 4-2 to Spruce Grove Mets
1974 Kelowna Buckaroos Won 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1973 Penticton Broncos Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1972 Vernon Essos Lost 4-2 to Red Deer Rustlers
1971 Penticton Broncos Lost 4-3 to Red Deer Rustlers
1970 N/A N/A
1969 Victoria Cougars Lost 4-2 to Lethbridge Sugar Kings
1968 Penticton Broncos Won 4-1 over Edmonton Western

Western Canada Cup history




From 2013 to 2017, the four Western CJHL leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL and MJHL) competed for the Western Canada Cup (WCC) with the top-two finishers advancing to the RBC Cup. The WCC replaced the Doyle Cup (BCHL champion versus AJHL champion) and the Anavet Cup (SJHL champion versus MJHL champion).

In 2018, the BCHL and AJHL returned to the Doyle Cup series.

The WCC was a five-team event with the host team plus the winners of each of the four leagues. The top-two teams from the WCC advance to the RBC Cup national championship.

Year Location BCHL Representative(s) Result
2017 Penticton, BC Chilliwack Chiefs, Penticton Vees Vees finished 2nd
2016 Estevan, SK West Kelowna Warriors Warriors won WCC
2015 Fort McMurray, AB Penticton Vees Vees won WCC
2014 Dauphin, MB Coquitlam Express 4th place
2013 Nanaimo, BC Surrey Eagles, Nanaimo Clippers Eagles Won WCC