Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Rockwell commits to Huskies

RockwellThe Wenatchee Wild have been in the BCHL for two full seasons now but the latest college commitment news out of their camp certainly solidifies their membership.

Captain and defenceman Tyler Rockwell has committed to play at Michigan Tech, which has recruited heavily from the BCHL and currently features 13 league alumni on their roster.

Rockwell is in his second BCHL season and third with the Wild, having played with the club in their final season in the North American Hockey League. A native of San Jose, Calif., Rockwell has 13 goals and 35 assists for 48 points in 102 BCHL games from the blueline.

At Michigan Tech, Rockwell will join a Huskies program that competes in the NCAA Div. I Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA). The other teams in the WCHA are Bemidji State, Ferris State, Alabama-Huntsville, Minnesota State, Northern Michigan, Lake Superior State, Alaska, and Alaska-Anchorage.

On the roster for the 2016-17 season are BCHL alums Dane Birks, Angus Redmond, Alex Gillies, Reid Sturos, Jake Jackson, Gavin Gould, Jake Lucchini, Mason Blacklock, Shane Hanna, Brent Baltus, Devin Kero, Evan Anderson and Chris Gerrie.

Other current BCHLers committed to Michigan Tech are Mitch Meek, Jagger Williamson, Cooper Watson, Carver Watson, Marcus Mitchell, Mitch Newsome.