Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Schiavon commits to Yale

It’s been quite a week for Surrey Eagles defenceman Cody Schiavon. Last Friday he was named the Eagles captain for the 2019-20 season and this week he announced his commitment to the Yale University Bulldogs for the 2020-21 season.

Schiavon made his BCHL debut with the Salmon Arm Silverbacks as an affiliate in the 2016-17 season and played five games for the team. He became a regular in the league the following season with the Eagles where he’s been ever since. The 18-year-old from Kelowna, B.C. has played 101 regular-season games, chipping in with six goals and 26 assists. The offensive highlight of his BCHL career came last season in a Nov. 18 game against the Coquitlam Express where he had a goal and two assists and was named the game’s first star in a 6-2 win.

He will play one more season in Surrey before making the jump to college in 2020-21.

Yale University is located in New Haven, Conn. and is an NCAA Division I program playing in the ECAC Hockey conference, competing against Brown, Clarkson, Colgate, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, Quinnipiac, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence and Union.

Bulldogs alums that made an impact in the NHL include: Randy Wood, who played 741 games over an 11-year career and leads all Yale grads with 334 points, and former Vancouver Canuck Chris Higgins, who is one back of Wood in career points and played 12 seasons in the league.

Last year’s Yale squad tied for fifth in the ECAC standings with an in-conference record of 11-10-1 and eventually lost to Clarkson in the ECAC quarterfinals.

Their roster featured several BCHL alums, including Matt Foley (Merritt Centennials), Kyle Johnson (Prince George Spruce Kings), Tyler Welsh (Victoria Grizzlies) and Brett Jewell (Merritt).

Chilliwack Chiefs forward Cole Donhauser (2019-20), Langley Rivermen forward Kalen Szeto (2020-21), Trail Smoke Eaters forward Hayden Rowan (2019-20), Vernon Vipers forward Teddy Wooding (2019-20) and West Kelowna Warriors goaltender Connor Hopkins (2019-20) are also all committed to the Bulldogs. Vipers 2019-20 commit Jojo Tanaka-Campbell also has a scholarship to Yale for 2020-21.