Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Trail’s Kent Johnson named CJHL’s Top Forward

Photo credit: Garrett James Photography

Kent Johnson of the Trail Smoke Eaters has been named the CJHL’s Top Forward for 2019-20.

Johnson, from Port Moody, B.C., led the BCHL in scoring this year with 101 points, becoming just the second player since 2015-16 to reach the 100-point plateau. His 41 goals and 60 assists were also tops in the league.

Over his two-year career in the league, the 17-year-old totaled 147 points in 111 regular-season games.

On top of leading the BCHL in scoring, Johnson also won the Vern Dye Memorial Trophy as the league’s Most Valuable Player as well as the Bob Fenton Trophy for Most Sportsmanlike.

Johnson led the Smoke Eaters to a second-place finish in the Interior Division and a first-round sweep of the Prince George Spruce Kings before the playoffs were cancelled. He had seven points in those four games.

Due to a late birthday, Johnson isn’t eligible for the NHL Draft until 2021, but is expected to be a high first-round pick, with many projections having him in the top-five. He is committed to the University of Michigan next season.

Other finalists for the award include Sherwood Park Crusaders forward Carter Savoie (AJHL), Summerside Western Capitals forward Brodie MacArthur (MJAHL), Blind River Beavers forward Caleb Serre (NOJHL) and Oakville Blades forward Harrison Israels (OJHL).

Earlier this week, Johnson was also named a finalist for the CJHL’s Most Valuable Player Award, which will be announced next week.