Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Nominees named from each division

After stage one of voting by the league’s head coaches, a finalist has been named from each division for the BCHL’s annual awards.

For the first time in league history, the Goaltending Award is being voted on. Prior to this season, it simply went to the goalie with the lowest goals-against average and 1,000 minutes played.

Other trophies that will be awarded but are not voted on are the Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy (best regular-season record), the Brett Hull Trophy (top scorer) and the Wally Forslund (goalie tandem with the best combined goals-against average).

The coaches will submit another round of votes to determine the winner of each trophy and those will be announced next week before the start of the playoffs.

Here are the finalists for the 2018 BCHL awards:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Island – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland – Ethan De Jong, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year Award
Island – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland – Corey Andonovski, Chilliwack Chiefs
Interior – Josh Prokop, Vernon Vipers

Defensive Award – Top Defenceman
Island – Max Crozier, Nanaimo Clippers
Mainland – Colin Bernard, Langley Rivermen
Interior – Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild

Goaltending Award
Island – Taz Burman, Nanaimo Clippers
Mainland – Evan DeBrouwer, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Ty Taylor, Vernon Vipers

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Island – Gavin Rauser, Powell River Kings
Mainland – Ben Poisson, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Nicholas Wicks, Merritt Centennials

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Island – Matt Hughes, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
Mainland – Adam Maglio, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild