Trevor Miller named 2018-19 BCHL Broadcaster of the Year

After a survey of the league’s 17 broadcasters, former Trail Smoke Eaters play-by-play man Trevor Miller has been named the 2018-19 BCHL Broadcaster of the Year.

The criteria for the award includes: broadcast skill, professionalism and work beyond the booth.

On top of his broadcasting duties, Miller was responsible for all media relations and creating content for the team’s website and social media channels.

“It’s truly an honour and a humbling experience to be named Broadcaster of the Year, especially with the award being voted on by my peers,” said Miller. “There are great broadcasters in this league that I have gotten the chance to know and befriend over the years, which makes receiving this award truly special.”

Miller started working in the BCHL doing colour commentary for the Penticton Vees from 2013 to 2016, before switching to play-by-play with the West Kelowna Warriors for two seasons. Last year was his first calling Smoke Eaters games.

Miller recently accepted a job to rejoin Penticton doing play-by-play, taking over for former Vees broadcaster Craig Beauchemin, and has already started work for his new team.

Former winners of the Broadcaster of the Year Award include:

2018 – Graham Turnbull, Vernon Vipers
2017 – Fraser Rodgers, Penticton Vees
2016 – Alex Rawnsley, Powell River Kings & Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2015 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2014 – Marc Fitzgerald, Chilliwack Chiefs
2013 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
2012 – Dan Marshall, Nanaimo Clippers
2011 – Eddie Gregory, Coquitlam Express
2010 – Todd Miller, Vernon Vipers
2009 – Evan Hammond, Alberni Valley Bulldogs