Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

BCHL introduces year-end officiating All-Star Team

The BCHL has introduced a set of year-end awards for officials, starting in 2023-24.

At the conclusion of the season, the league will announce an Officiating All-Star Team made up of two referees and two linespeople.

The award will be voted on by a panel of officiating coaches involved with the BCHL.

“This initiative gives us the chance to honour four of our officials each year who display superior skill and ability during the season,” said Vice President of Hockey Operations, Brad Lazarowich. “Our league recognizes the importance of officials as an integral part of the game. In addition to developing elite hockey players, the BCHL also prides itself on the development of our on-ice officials.”

The league recently announced that current NHL referee Kelly Sutherland, former NHL officials Shane Heyer and Jay Sharrers, as well as head of officiating for the Big Ten, Steve Piotrowski, will be working with the league as Development Coaches and Mentors.

The BCHL will announce its officiating staff for 2023-24 on Thursday, July 20.