Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Brooks Bandits capture 2023-24 Alberta Cup

Photo credit: Davin Beer

The Brooks Bandits defeated the Sherwood Park Crusaders by a 7-3 score line in Game 5 of the Alberta Final, winning their best-of-seven series and securing the inaugural Alberta Cup.

The back-and-forth game saw Brooks leading 4-3 at the second intermission before the Bandits scored three straight in the final frame to pull away. Mirko Buttazzoni led the charge for Brooks in Game 5, scoring two goals and adding an assist for a three-point night. Team captain Nicholas DeGraves also had three points on a goal and a pair of assists.

The Bandits reached the Alberta final after defeating the Okotoks Oilers in seven games the previous round.

2006-born Brooks forward Logan Sawyer was named the Alberta Playoffs Most Valuable Player, finishing the postseason with a division-leading 15 points in 12 games on seven goals and eight assists.

Bandits forwards Nathan Free and Caelen Fitzpatrick each finished in a tie for second in Alberta postseason scoring with 13 points apiece.

Brooks now awaits the winner of the Fred Page Cup Final between the Surrey Eagles and Penticton Vees, which is currently tied 2-2. The B.C. winner will travel to Alberta to faceoff with the Bandits in the Rocky Mountain Challenge, a best-of-three season-ending series from May 31 to June 2. All Rocky Mountain Challenge games will be played at Centennial Regional Arena in Brooks.